Weight Vest Training

One month prior to the GORUCK Challenge, I began training with a weight vest to prepare myself for carrying a heavy ruck over a long distance. My weight vest loads up to 40 lbs by inserting small sandbags into the pockets. I began at  20lbs and did all of my WODs at crossfit with the vest, increasing the weight each week until I was at 35lbs. Here’s what I got out of it:

My Stregth Increased 

My Stamina Increased 

Everything I Did, From Pullups to Push Ups to Running Became Easy Without the Vest

The downside to vest training is that prolonged use of the vest while running, box jumping and other impact work can take a tool on the joints. That being said, I had no issues with that during my month of training.

In the future, I plan to throw in the vest maybe for 2 weeks every 2 months and see if I experience continued benefits. I’ll let you know.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

