Yoga Yoga Yoga

A little over a month ago I decided to get a little more serious about yoga by making a commitment to going to an actual yoga class as opposed to following videos at home. I purchased a package at Bindu Yoga, where several fellow Crossfit Lafayette athletes were going.

The first class nearly killed me. I stumbled into a hot vinyasa class without knowing any better. For those of you that haven’t been to one, it’s one of the more intense flow sessions with the room temperature heated. When I was done, I felt great. It was a new challenge. I was hooked!

 It’s a different environment from crossfit. The instructors are very nurturing…almost motherly (My instructors are women). It’s like a healing process for the whole body. Don’t get me wrong, you are building as well. Here is what I’ve gotten out of yoga over the past month –

1. Improved flexibility. My squat is deeper and my rack position much easier to get into. My hamstrings are much less tight than when I started.

2. Stabilizer Strength. Crossfit tends to work up/down and backwards and forwards. Yoga involves twists and other planes of motion that build stabilizer muscles. As a result, I’m stronger in my crossfit workouts as well as in other planes of motion!

3. Breathing. As a lifelong martial artist, I’ve been practicing proper breath for many years. Still going in and concentrating on my breath has made it that much better. learning to control my breath in uncomfortable positions has made controlling my breath during WODs easier.

4. Cleansing. Not that you don’t sweat a lot during your normal workouts but this is a bit different. The positions are designed to stimulate and cleanse your organs. You feel so much better!

So is yoga for you? Yoga is for everyone! Add it to your training for a month and let me know what you think.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. TRIbook - Does Yoga Work for Triathletes?

Leave a Reply

