What is Functional Fitness?

People always ask me about my workouts? My martial arts training aside, the question is almost always…” What is Crossfit?”  and “What is MovNat?” Many want to know if crossfit is  a 24 hour gym or big franchise. MovNat seems to completely confuse people when it’s truly so simple. I often try to explain, they nod but don’t  fully understand. This is about functional fitness. The ability to lift heavy things, to chase or run away if necessary. It’s about being able to climb or pull yourself up over a ledge or up into a boat. It’s about speed, agility and jumping. It’s about being fighting fit. Hell, it’s about being able to get off of the sofa with out using your hands. Here are some videos to explain what functional fitness is – Get out there and get in real shape. Be ready to take on the world and what it throws at you!

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. The sofa point is very true. For years I have always used my hands to get up from any sitting position. Not sure when and how exactly it happened but it was simply an expression of my weak posterior chain that then translated into a movement pattern, that of course then perpetuated this chain.

    It was only when I started squatting – and in particular – box squatting with serious weights that I became aware of this pattern and was able to address it. Even now in fact I need often to consciously remind me to get up without using my hands, and sometimes I nevertheless do use them just automatically

    Reply
  2. Mike,

    Excellent post dude! I’m preparing to get the MovNat cert once it’s released!

    All the best,

    Travis

    Reply

Leave a comment